Call it the Google+ effect. After July 31st, Google is going to delete all private profiles. There's no way to opt-out. If you want to keep your profile, you have to make at least your name and gender public.
Don't worry about Google deleting your profile. It won't delete your Google account or Gmail account. It just gets rid of the profile that you used for social services like Google Buzz or the sharing feature of Google Reader.
You can keep up with Kelly Hodgkins, the author of this post, on Twitter.