How to Deal With Your Google Data After You're Dead

Google just launched an "Inactive Account Manager" to help you deal with your data after you die. The tool lets you decide what to do with you data after your account has been inactive for three, six, nine or 12 months. This is Google's death tool.

The Inactive Account Manager is designed to either grant access to your data to others or delete your data after a certain period of inactivity. The Google products included in the service are +1s; Blogger; Contacts and Circles; Drive; Gmail; Google+ Profiles, Pages and Streams; and Picasa Web Albums.

When you go to set it up, you set a "timeout period" after which Google takes action. You can choose to share data with up to 10 trusted contacts—and for each of them you can choose which Google products you'd like them to have access to. You can also setup a Timeout warning that'll send a message to an alternate email or to your mobile device so that you don't accidentally let your Timeout period expire. After your data has all been dealt with, you've got the option of deleting your account as well. [Google]