T-Mobile Will Throttle Your Data If You Use Torrents

If you're using your unlimited T-Mobile 4G/LTE plan to download the last season of Game Of Thrones in all its 1080P glory, stop now or be throttled. According to an internal memo to staff, T-Mobile knows if you abuse your data allowance and will "address" you shortly.

T-Mobile's terms and conditions clearly spell out what is considered "misuse" of data:

Using the Service in connection with server devices or host computer applications, including continuous Web camera posts or broadcasts, automatic data feeds, automated machine-to-machine connections or peer-to-peer (P2P) file-sharing applications that are broadcast to multiple servers or recipients, "bots" or similar routines that could disrupt net user groups or email use by others or other applications that denigrate network capacity or functionality.

This only applies to you if you have $80 Simple Choice plan or are grandfathered into the $70 unlimited data plan. And to be fair, the UnCarrier will give you plenty of warnings before it actually throttles your speed. Here's what will happen:

  • T-Mobile will contact customers to explain terms and conditions to them, and then advise them that data speed could be reduced until the next billing cycle IF they continue to misuse the data service.
  • When the customer is contacted, T-Mobile will apply a 'Misuse Warning SOC' to their account.
  • If behavior continues, the existing warning SOC is replaced by a 'Misuse Throttle SOC' and their data speeds get reduced.
  • These SOCs are visible to customer care and other staff who access the user's account, to make it clear to them why they might be experiencing slower speeds.

These measures go into effect from August 17 — so you still have a few days to clean up your act. [TMONews]