Utah Now Punishes Texting While Driving With Up to 15 Years in Prison

We may earn a commission from links on this page.

The Senate may be trying to pass a federal ban on texting while driving, but Utah recently passed a much stronger bill: It views the act is inherently reckless and punishes it as harshly as drunk driving.

Passed after a texting driver killed two scientists, the law would put texting while driving in the same legal category as drunk driving if any crash happens. It's a far stronger law than most of those already existing in other states; California's, for example, punishes offenders with a tiny fine, usually around $20.

In Utah, if you were to crash while texting, the punishment could be extremely severe—up to 15 years in prison. It's a harsh law but we can't deny that texting while driving is incredibly dangerous. [NYTimes]