If you’ve tried Google Photos and didn’t like it, you probably deleted the app. But you may not realize that, if you use Android, it’s potentially still collecting and storing all of your photographs. Here’s how to stop it.

David A. Arnott noticed this was the case when hundreds of his images appeared on Google Photos even though he’d deleted the app. The software, you see, uses the central Google Settings menu to dictate whether photographs are backed up to Google’s cloud—so if you don’t change those settings, the uploads will continue to occur.

Advertisement

To stop it from happening, you need to navigate your way to the Google Settings menu, choose Google Photo Backup and then turn it off. That should do the trick.

[Nashville Business Journal via Engadget via Verge]