AT&T Clarifies How Limited Its Unlimited Plan Really Is

If you're one of the lucky AT&T customers who still has an unlimited data plan, you're probably aware that AT&T hamstings the connections of its "top 5 percent" of data consumers. But it has never been clear who exactly falls into that category. Until now.

Here's what it means to be part of the top 5 percent of data users on an unlimited plan:

If you have a smartphone that works on our 3G or 4G network and still have an unlimited data plan,

- You'll receive a text message when your usage approaches 3GB in one billing cycle.

- Each time you use 3GB or more in a billing cycle, your data speeds will be reduced for the rest of that billing -cycle and then go back to normal.

- The next time you exceed that usage level, your speeds will be reduced without another text message reminder.

If you have a 4G LTE smartphone and still have an unlimited data plan, the same process applies at 5GB of data usage, instead of 3GB.

AT&T doesn't offer unlimited plans any more, so this only applies to people who are still grandfathered into the one they signed up for eons ago. As much we hate to see AT&T reneg on its old deal—in spirit, at least—you have to admit that 3GB a month is a TON of data. If you're using that much, maybe you could use a little rehab, anyway. [AT&T]