Your Google+ Photo Will Soon Be Displayed When You Call an Android

Google has plans to make better use of your Google+ profile picture—by throwing it up on the display of whoever you call, from early next year.

According to Attila Bodis from Google, accounts that have a verified phone number attached to them will be automatically opted in and linked to the associated Google+ account. That means that anyone using an Android to make or receive a call from a number linked to a Google+ account will see a corresponding profile image, automatically. No need to associate pictures with people, Google will do it for you.

In fairness, it's not dissimilar to the way Gmail displays your profile image in email chains—just a little more creepy—and it's no doubt a useful feature for many. But, as usual, there will be some wailing over privacy concerns—particularly the default opt-in nature of the service. Still, if you want to stop it happening, you can disable the "help people who have your phone number find you on Google services and connect with you" option in Google’s account settings. The service should, apparently, roll out early 2014. [Google+ via Android Central via Verge]