Let's celebrate the USA on July 4th! How big does the celebration go across America? Across the 50 states, duh. The 48 contiguous, Alaska and Hawaii. But what about Washington DC? And the Indian territories? Puerto Rico? Guam? The Virgin Islands? And let's not get into places you've never heard of like Johnston Atoll and Bajo Nuevo Bank. The truth is the United States of America is an empire with a different name. CGP Grey explains the truth behind the American Empire in his latest video below.

Image: Shutterstock/spirit of america

SPLOID is a new blog about awesome stuff. Join us on Facebook