Black Friday Is Almost Here!
The Inventory team is rounding up deals you don’t want to miss, now through Cyber Monday. Click here to browse!

The Hurt Locker Lawyers' 14,000 Lawsuit Crusade

Illustration for article titled The iHurt Locker/i Lawyers 14,000 Lawsuit Crusade

While Voltage Pictures has gotten most of the publicity surrounding the 5,000 Hurt Locker lawsuits that were handed out last Friday, it's far from the first P2P shake-down for the lawyers backing them. Extremely far, as it turns out.

Advertisement

The group of lawyers behind the suits call themselves the US Copyright Group, and Ars Technica figures they've sued a whopping 14,583 people this year alone. To give that some perspective: in 2009, federal copyright lawsuits numbered fewer than 2,000 total. Even more perspective: the entire RIAA anti-piracy campaign targeted 18,000 people between 2003 and 2008.

Advertisement

The Hurt Locker case has been the most prominent so far, but Dunlap, Grubb, & Weaver—the lead firm in all USCG actions—has initiated six other mass P2P lawsuits since January. The reach of each case is too broad to settle entirely in court, and it's clear that that's not the USCG's intention: instead, their modus operandi is to offer each individual a $1500 to $2500 "settlement" that's split between the lawyers and the studio.

It's an easy racket. And with the rate of success they've been seeing, it's not likely one that'll go away any time soon. [Ars Technica]

Share This Story

Get our newsletter

DISCUSSION

rumpelstiltskin-old
rumpelstiltskin

Oh, skype...you and I are going to have some fun:

Attorneys behind the US copyright group, who are hiding behind the name US Copyright group:

Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver

Washington, D.C. Office

1200 G Street, NW, Suite 800

Washington, D.C. 20005

Tel: (202) 316-8558

Fax: (202) 318-0242

Bennett, Ellis L. - ebennett@dglegal.com

Chang, Phillip - pchang@dglegal.com

Dunlap, Thomas M - tdunlap@dglegal.com

Dureska, Geoffrey M. - gdureska@dglegal.com

Grubb, Daniel L. - dgrubb@dglegal.com

Ludwig, David - dludwig@dglegal.com

Moore, Mike - mmoore@dglegal.com

Kurtz, Nicholas A. - nkurtz@dglegal.com

Novel, Sur - snovel@dglegal.com

Policasti, Eugene - epolicasti@dglegal.com

Tate, Christopher F. - ctate@dglegal.com

Weaver, Jeffrey William - jweaver@dglegal.com

Whitticar, Michael C. - mwhitticar@dglegal.com

Gurganous, Tom - tgurganous@dglegal.com