Here Are the 2016 Nebula Award Nominees

We may earn a commission from links on this page.

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America has announced its 2016 Nebula Award nominees—honoring the best works of scifi and fantasy published in the US—as well as its Bradbury (for dramatic presentation, with Westworld cracking the film-heavy category) and Norton (for YA works) nominees.

We’re especially pleased to see io9 co-founder Charlie Jane Anders nominated for her critically acclaimed novel All the Birds in the Sky. And we’ll be canceling all our plans for the next few months until we can catch up on all the nominated works we haven’t yet read or watched. Here’s the complete list from the official SFWA announcement:


All the Birds in the Sky, Charlie Jane Anders (Tor; Titan)

Borderline, Mishell Baker (Saga)

The Obelisk Gate, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit US; Orbit UK)

Ninefox Gambit,Yoon Ha Lee (Solaris US; Solaris UK)

Everfair, Nisi Shawl (Tor)


Runtime, S.B. Divya ( Publishing)

The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe, Kij Johnson ( Publishing)

The Ballad of Black Tom, Victor LaValle ( Publishing)

Every Heart a Doorway, Seanan McGuire ( Publishing)

“The Liar”, John P. Murphy (F&SF)

A Taste of Honey, Kai Ashante Wilson ( Publishing)


“The Long Fall Up”, William Ledbetter (F&SF)

“Sooner or Later Everything Falls Into the Sea”, Sarah Pinsker (Lightspeed)

“Blood Grains Speak Through Memories”, Jason Sanford (Beneath Ceaseless Skies)

“The Orangery”, Bonnie Jo Stufflebeam (Beneath Ceaseless Skies)

The Jewel and Her Lapidary, Fran Wilde ( Publishing)

“You’ll Surely Drown Here If You Stay”, Alyssa Wong (Uncanny)

Short Story

“Our Talons Can Crush Galaxies”, Brooke Bolander (Uncanny)

“Seasons of Glass and Iron”, Amal El-Mohtar (The Starlit Wood)

“Sabbath Wine”, Barbara Krasnoff (Clockwork Phoenix 5)

“Things With Beards”, Sam J. Miller (Clarkesworld)

“This Is Not a Wardrobe Door”, A. Merc Rustad (Fireside Magazine)

“A Fist of Permutations in Lightning and Wildflowers”, Alyssa Wong (

“Welcome to the Medical Clinic at the Interplanetary Relay Station│Hours Since the Last Patient Death: 0”, Caroline M. Yoachim (Lightspeed)


Arrival, Directed by Denis Villeneuve, Screenplay by Eric Heisserer, 21 Laps Entertainment/FilmNation Entertainment/Lava Bear Films/Xenolinguistics

Doctor Strange, Directed by Scott Derrickson, Screenplay by Scott Derrickson & C. Robert Cargill, Marvel Studios/Walt Disney Studio Motion Pictures

Kubo and the Two Strings, Directed by Travis Knight, Screenplay by Mark Haimes & Chris Butler; Laika Entertainment

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, Directed by Gareth Edwards, Written by Chris Weitz & Tony Gilroy; Lucusfilm/ Walt Disney Studio Motion Pictures

Westworld: ‘‘The Bicameral Mind’’, Directed by Jonathan Nolan, Written by Lisa Joy & Jonathan Nolan; HBO

Zootopia, Directed by Byron Howard, Rich Moore, & Jared Bush, Screenplay by Jared Bush & Phil Johnston; Walt Disney Pictures/Walt Disney Animation Studios


The Girl Who Drank the Moon, Kelly Barnhill (Algonquin Young Readers)

The Star-Touched Queen, Roshani Chokshi (St. Martin’s)

The Lie Tree, Frances Hardinge (Macmillan UK; Abrams)

Arabella of Mars, David D. Levine (Tor)

Railhead, Philip Reeve (Oxford University Press; Switch)

Rocks Fall, Everyone Dies, Lindsay Ribar (Kathy Dawson Books)

The Evil Wizard Smallbone, Delia Sherman (Candlewick)

The awards are voted on by SFWA members, and will be announced during the organization’s annual Nebula Conference May 18-21 in Pittsburgh, PA.